Program Schedule (February 2019)

 

Date AM (9:30-11:30) PM (12:30-14:30) PM (14:30-Evening)
Feb 6 Wed    

<International students>

Hotel Check-in

Feb 7

Thu

Meet at the Hotel 

Orientation 1
Welcome lunch
Campus Tour

Survival Japanese / Karuta

Orientation 2


(17:00-19:00) 

Welcome Reception

Feb 8 Fri

UNDERSTANDING JAPAN THROUGH CROSS-CULTURAL COMPARISON
Joseph Shaules
(Keio University International Center)

UNDERSTANDING JAPAN THROUGH CROSS-CULTURAL COMPARISON
Joseph Shaules
(Keio University International Center)

14:30-16:00

Preparation 1 for the Final Presentation

Feb 9 Sat Overnight trip to Nikko

- Nikko Toshogu Shrine

 

Feb 10 Sun

Overnight trip to Nikko

- Kegon Falls and Nikko Edomura (Edo Wonderland)

 

Feb 11 Mon

Free *a national holiday

 

 

Feb 12 Tue

CULUTRAL DIFFERENCES: How can foreign businesses  succeed in Japan?
Masao Ogaki
(Faculty of Economics)

Visit to Mori Building Co., Ltd. *Roppongi Hills  
Feb 13 Wed

JAPAN'S POSTWAR RESURGENCE
David Holley
(Keio University International Center)

JAPANESE POLITICO-ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
Tomohiko Taniguchi
(Keio University International Center)

Preparation 2 for the Final Presentation

Feb 14 Thu

LITERATURE OF THE SAMURAI
Andrew Armour
(Keio University International Center)

HUMAN ENGINEERING WITH FOCUS ON JAPAN
Jacqueline Urakami
(Keio University International Center)

 
Feb 15 Fri

JAPANESE FOOD CULTURE
Joji Nozawa
(Keio University International Center)

Sushi Workshop
by a sushi chef

JAPANESE ARTS
Yukiko Shirahara
(Keio University International Center)

JAPANESE ARTS
*visit to the museum

Feb 16 Sat

Free

 

 
Feb 17 Sun Free    
Feb 18 Mon JAPANESE ECONOMY
Eimon Ueda
(Graduate School of Business and Commerce)

KABUKI TODAY
Akira Mark Oshima
(Keio University International Center)

Visit to Kabukiza Gallery
Feb 19 Tue Preparation 3 for the Final Presentation

PROGRAM WRAP-UP
    Final Presentation

    Closing Ceremony

 (17:00-19:00) 

Farewell Reception

Feb 20 Wed <International students>
Hotel Check-out